Ten Studies by Johannes Brahms

(2 reviews) Write a Review

Purchase at AMAZON

PDF Version is HERE

Originally composed for horn and first published after Brahms' death in 1897, these studies are transcribed and edited by John Van Houten.


 The Van Houten Edition offers advice on maintaining musical consistency in the very low register and on performing high passages musically.

 Van Houten's careful transcription, editing, and instructive text, make this publication essential and rewarding for all tubists.



2 Reviews Hide Reviews Show Reviews

  • 5
    Concise & Comprehensive

    Posted by Bob on 29th Aug 2013

    Although Brahms has composed some very satisfying tuba parts in his orchestral works, these studies allow the tubist to approach his music from another perspective. Challenging, rewarding, and instructive, this concise book offers much more than expected. I'll likely incorporate excerpts into my daily routine. High tuba parts also work well for euphonium. Highly recommended.

  • 5
    A wonderful opportunity to study the music of Brahms

    Posted by Keith Robinson on 30th Apr 2013

    John Van Houten's transcription of Brahms'10 Studies is extraordinarily useful for many aspects of musical skill building. First and foremost, Brahms' writing calls for, and draws out, a need for great attention to musical expression. The variety in tempi and styles, and Van Houten's assigning of various keys and registers provides a great deal of challenge and beauty from page to page. In just 10 studies, there are numerous possibilities for musical growth. Important to note is the manner in which Van Houten presents each study in both a high register setting and a low register setting. This facilitates big horn and small horn work, with each register helping to reinforce and strengthen the performing of the opposite register. Insightful commentary for each study is provided by Van Houten, giving priority and focus to the tubist. Originally written for horn, Van Houten has provided tubists with a wonderful opportunity to study the music of Brahms. Bravo!